From 8-17-14

by Emily

While talking to a male about cutting my hair (I recently cut it from shoulder-length to ear-length.), I mentioned that I someday want to GI-Jane buzz it, and he told me two notable things:

1. “I don’t like your hair right now. I don’t mean to be offensive, but I just don’t think it looks good.”

I replied, “That’s okay. You don’t need to like it. I do.”

2. About buzzing my hair: “What? There’s no way your boyfriend would let you do that!”

I wanted to say: “My boyfriend isn’t a misogynist like you, and would never tell me what I ‘can’ and ‘can’t’ do.”

I really said: “My boyfriend doesn’t control what I do with my own body. He knows and respects that I’ll do whatever I think looks good and interesting.”

The idea that I would care what this guy thought of me, and the idea that my boyfriend would tell me what to do was absolutely ridiculous.

