10-17-14

by Emily

At the front desk where I work, we currently have free giveaway samples of tampons and sanitary pads. It’s not uncommon for us to get samples, not even uncommon for them to be feminine products (what a silly phrase) since our college is 60% female. I’ve noticed, though, that the sophomore males have two reactions to the samples: 1) laughing uncontrollably and making period jokes at their friends, or 2) picking them up, only to realize what they are and drop them as if they’ve been burned.

Do men actually think tampons come pre-bloodied or something?

Ridiculous.

Then, just now, one of the most depressing things I’ve ever seen happened. A female resident walked up and looked at the samples. I told her what they were and added that she could take as many as she wanted–tampons and pads are expensive; I’ve definitely taken like…three boxes for myself already. She nodded and grabbed a few of the pads, then looked at me and said, “But I don’t want the boys to see these…” She promptly shoved the products up her shirt and walked off.

I literally cannot believe that our society has made women so ashamed of themselves. The patriarchal culture has actually mocked women into believing that they have to hide their biological identity. That is so royally fucked up.

